Counting My Blessings

blessings37

Last month a friend of mine posted a thought provoking question on his blog “What is everyone thankful for”. I paused because it’s not your everyday question is it. I mean how many times in a day let alone a year is anyone ever asked that question (minus the holidays).  So I read through some of the replies and most only touched the surface of the things we are or should be thankful for ( OK, so I guess your all waiting to hear what I’m thankful for), my reply was ” I’m thankful for everything I don’t have (not including the loss of family members).” And you know what; I sincerely mean every word of it… I really am.

There are times that I complain about the things I don’t have or want (and Lords knows I complain), but I know if half of my desires/ wishes were granted. I’d be stressed out and in more debt than I already am (as the saying goes… bigger things bring bigger problems). I thought that quitting my job was going to bring me a lot of misery (don’t get me wrong it has been a struggle), but you know what, since quitting I’ve taken up photography, I’m trying to learning two foreign languages (Russian and German), I’ve taken a short Quickbooks course and right not I’m trying to figure out a script in html. So quitting my job has not been as devastating as one would think. As strange as it may seem it’s been a blessing because I’ve just advanced my résumé even further. Thanks haters blessings truly come in many forms!!!!!

Here is a passage I want everyone to read it by an Ancient Taoist

One day, a farmer’s horse ran away. His neighbors expressed sympathy, “What terrible luck that you lost your horse!” The farmer replied, “Maybe so, maybe not.”

A few days later, the horse returned, leading several wild horses. The neighbors shouted, “Your horse has returned, and brought more with him. What great fortune!” The farmer replied, “Maybe so, maybe not.”

Later that week, the farmer’s son was trying to break one of the wild horses and got thrown to the ground, breaking his leg. The villagers cried, “Your son broke his leg, what a calamity!” The farmer replied, “Maybe so, maybe not.”… Read More

A few weeks later, soldiers from the national army marched through town, conscripting all the able-bodied young men for the army. They did not take the farmer’s son because of his broken leg. Friends shouted, “Your boy is spared, what tremendous luck!” To which the farmer replied, “Maybe so, maybe not.”

Interesting passage right.

Well what I’m trying to say is that, sometimes we should be thankful for the things we don’t have….even when it’s something we want.

3 thoughts on “Counting My Blessings

Leave a Reply

