Human Rights

human-rights-every-human-has-rights.jpg

Our greatest strength as a human race is our ability to acknowledge our differences; our greatest weakness is our failure to embrace them

(Judith Henderson).

I am far from perfect; I have made many mistakes in life and still continue to learn from past mistakes. I have judged people based on appearance. Is it something that I am proud of ‘NO’, did I act responsibly…of course not.

Each day thousands maybe even millions of people have had there basic human rights denied  (including myself a bit of an oxymoron…eh).

The 10th December 2009 is a world wide celebration of Human Rights Day, the chosen date is to honor the United Nations General Assembly’s adoption and proclamation in 1948’s universal declaration of human rights.  Each year’s theme is different; for example, 2006’s focus was based on the struggle against poverty and last year Amnesty International celebrated 60 years of the UN’s resolution in Paris.

So what will you do this year for Human Rights Day???

Last month I sure you all read the article I wrote ‘Stop the Violence’. Well if you didn’t (just to recap), it was a short article about the lack of rights women have in various countries. Today we stand together and celebrate how far we have come….but we should also remember how far we have yet to go.

For more information, visit http://www.un.org/en/peace/

and http://www.amnesty.org/

3 thoughts on “Human Rights

  1. We are all imperfect…..All we can do is strive to be a better person each and very day that we breath.

    We have a responsibility to treat each other as we would like to be treated…..Thank you for making me think.

  2. Beautiful, yet haunting I think.

    I also wrote about a violence and tear up every time I read about as you said “how far we have come and how far we have to go”. It’s a strange dance. Every time a new legislation pass, I think, “wow, great”, then immediately, I feel angry that we even have to pass legislation on how to treat each other, especially the majority of the world.

    Perhaps you might contribute a piece to my blog? Take care.

  3. It does all start with ourselves, with small, daily life things. When we are about to yell at someone, husband, wife, brother, sister, son, daughter, or co-worker, we should pause and think: do I have the right to yell? Then we can question those with “authority” when they are about to take an action to invade others’ rights and lives: who give you the rights?

    Greatly appreciate your writings.

Leave a Reply

