Untitled

abusive_men2.jpg

In November I wrote about stopping violence against women and in December I wrote about human rights. So let me now write about something that is happening in the apartment building I use to live in….

Everyone knows I use to live in NYC and the last apartment I lived in was not one of the greatest situations I had ever been in and that’s putting it nicely.

Anyway; putting that aside, I shall now write about my neighbours. Well two couples in particular are in very abusive situations. One neighbour (a man) is constantly being threatened by his girlfriend and the other, is a woman who has become a punching bag for her boyfriend. The couple at the end of the hallway argue almost every weekend, they have horrible screaming matches that  lead from the apartment to the hallway…..which  in turn; leaves the children in the apartment screaming in fear. But last night, had to have been the worst I have ever heard . My neighbours (the new couple) that moved in about 3 months ago right next door to me, had a huge fight and I heard the boyfriend beating up his girlfriend. Yep, I could hear him punching her (the walls here are very thin). She was screaming for her life and he just continued to hit her. I did not know what to do or should I say I was too scared to help. I wanted to help her, but I was scared that he would come after me (I am after all, right next door). So I sat and listed and said to myself  ‘Lord let her be OK’.

Then there was a silence and she left the apartment. I could hear her telling someone she wants him out.

Thank God!!!!

Right about now, I feel like crap. My mind is still in a thousand places. What if she didn’t get out??? What if she was murdered and I sat in my living room listening to every word…..fearing that he would come after me????

What a mess!!!!!!

 

 The National Domestic Violence Hotline  1-800-799-7233

One thought on “Untitled

  1. Your fear was very real and you should not be ashamed.
    I have a very close friend who was abused by her boyfriend and one of her neighbors was beaten to the point of hospitalization when she attempted to intervene.

    I cannot fathom what could possess someone to abuse another human being who they supposedly “love”

    Sometimes “love” is the scariest four letter word.

Leave a Reply

